Systemic: Personal as Political

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hello fellow bloggers,

This time we had to review one of our older blog entries : “Blog Consciousness-raising response”
I seemed to be sleepy the last time when browsing this assignment and misunderstood the purpose and the goal of this errand.
My response was an edit in my previous blog called Identity and Politics Visual Map (The one where I visualized the world wide weapon dealing countries)

Since I misunderstood the previous assignment, I am simply going to do this over again:

“Name the systemic issue and search this
issue with all of the text or part of the text from the title of the course “Social Justice Activism through Feminist Arts-based
Research: Agency and Transformative Identity Politics” to identify at least one feminist arts-based research example that relates
to the systemic issue.”

Since my blog “Consciousness-raising response” reflected on immigration and mistrust, I had a hard time to come up with some arts based responses that would fit my chosen topic well enough.
Instead of an artwork I found an interesting article which connects feminism, immigration and some sort of mistrust in the US:

Geography and gender: Feminism and a feeling of justicehttp://phg.sagepub.com/content/34/6/818.full.pdf

Wright, Melissa (2010): Geography and gender: Feminism and a feeling of justice. In: Progress in Human Geography, http://phg.sagepub.com/
Pennsylvania State University, USA

I hope my finding is suffice enough to complete the assignment.

Dennis D.

Leave a Reply

